5 great films I saw in October

October 22, 2009 at 2:35 pm | Posted in Film | 2 Comments

my man godfrey

1. My Man Godfrey (1936)

So, I finally got to watch this film after putting it on the back burner for so long. I have to say that something was definitely wrong with me for waiting so long – the film is hilarious! I’m going to definitely expand my commentary on this film some other time!

Kramer vs. Kramer2. Kramer vs. Kramer (1979)

I actually watched Kramer vs. Kramer, because I sort of have this personal goal to watch all of Dustin Hoffman’s films – from the good to the bad. But, this is definitely one of his BEST roles (and one of Meryl Streep’s best, too!). I totally cried like a baby, at the end of the film.

Rose_Marie

3. Rose Marie (1936)

I was watching TCM on a lazy afternoon, and this charming film came on. I didn’t expect much, but I totally enjoyed this film. This is another one I hope to expand on when I get the time!

The-Bachelor-And-The-Bobby-Soxer

4. The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer (1947)

Though some might call me crazy, I am NOT a huge Cary Grant fan. Having said that, I found him so irresistible in this film. Oddly, I didn’t find Myrna Loy’s role too exciting, but teen Shirley Temple made up for it!

where_the_wild_things_are

5. Where the Wild Things Are (2009)

What can I say about this? This children’s picture book was always one of my favorites, but since it only consists of ten sentences, I could not imagine how they were going to translate it onto the big screen. Thank God for talented writers, because the film was amazing.

Seriously, I know I have been lacking in my posts, but I’ve been terribly frustrated with midterms. I should have more time for this blog in a couple weeks!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. fab post, medear, as usual! I’m very excited to see Where the Wild Things Are–and the soundtrack sounds great! Bachelor and the Bobby Soxer is one of my absolute favorite comedies ever–the writing is SO wonderfully done. And of course, you know my feelings on Godfrey. 😉

    I missed “Rose Marie” and am not a MacDonald/Eddy fan but since YOU liked it, I’ll look into it …

    • I totally agree with you – the soundtrack for Where the Wild Things Are is awesome! As for Rose Marie, I am not a big fan of Nelson Eddy either, but the film is a loose interpretation of Romeo and Juliet – you can never go wrong with Shakespeare, right? But, in any case, I do hope you enjoy it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

